I'm New to this

Options
I have wanted a solar electric system but it doesn't make ecconomic sense, but I would like to do it anyway. My calculations say that the break even point is over 25 years. Tax rebaits don't help because I am retired with low income.

To keep my investment reasonable I am considering a group of series connected solar panels to obtain 220 volts to power a stand alone resistive heater that in my basement. I would not be using batteries or an inverter. My question is "Is this a reasonable starting point for a solar electric system?"

I understand that solar hot water is more cost effective, but I don't like the idea of the heat exchanger running antifreeze thru my household water supply.

Comments welcome

Dozer

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: I'm New to this

Welcome to the forum!

You've already discovered the ugly economics of solar electric. :cry:
    The panels are probably the most expensive part. Couple that with the difficulty of switch high DC Voltages and the inefficiency of electricity for heating things and you see your plan is probably not the best way to spend your money.

If you want solar water heating, look in to building a "direct" solar hot water heater. Have a look at some of the DIY projects here: http://www.builditsolar.com/

If you want to experiment with solar electric, consider some sort of direct DC low Voltage system, such as security lights perhaps.

In my opinion, putting up 240 VDC worth of panels to feed a standard electric water heater would not be a good way to spend money.
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,439 admin
    Options

And, I have a thread going (not organized yet) with lots of information and links to various solar electric, solar thermal, and other projects... Take a look through them and see what strikes your fancy.

Working Thread for Solar Beginner Post/FAQ