Eletrician Going Off Grid - Sizing / Questions

tr0y
tr0y Solar Expert Posts: 99 ✭✭✭
Hi All -

I have been lurking quite a bit and learning all I can so thanks for the help and sharing in advance.

Here is my story, I am an electrician but never really done any PV / Renewable work, so I bought an off the grid house on a mountain outside of Las Vegas, it was unfinished and a pile of solar gear was in the garage, this is what I installed :

1) Xantrex 5548 SW inverter
1) Xantrex AC load center
1) Xantrex DC load center
1) Outback MX60 charge controller
1) Midnight Solar MPV12 combiner box w/ 2 15A breakers
8 eight) 6V 305 Amp Hour SunXtender AGM batteries Mfg Date 04/2010 - 4/0 cables
10) Evergreen Solar 205W panels in two 5 panel strings of 60V each
1) 8500W Onan propane generator rejetted for 7000' elevation w/ auto start feature

So here are my questions:

1. Is there a formula to figure out balance of PV panels and battery amp hours ?
2. What is the best way to figure out solar needs of a household ?
3. It seems that many people really oversize wire in the solar biz, even for DC, other than being overkill engineering,is there a practical reason for this ?
4. I really enjoyed doing the solar work, any tips for a grid based electrician thinking of making a jump to doing more alternative energy work ?

Thanks and I look forward to being part of your community

troy

Comments

• niel
    niel Solar Expert Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: Eletrician Going Off Grid - Sizing / Questions