Powering a TV off grid system

mbsimonds
mbsimonds Registered Users Posts: 11
Hi all,

I am new to solar energy. I put together a solar panel using cells i found on ebay. 36cells which in full sun is putting out about 19-20v. I have a cheapy MPPT controller. I scored 3 solar gel batteries cheap($125) that are 96ah each. I have them hooked up in parallel connected to the controller for a 12v system. I have a cheap inverter with a so called rating of 800 watts and 1600watts surge. Eventually I plan on adding more panels as time and materials become available.

The system is not connected to my houses grid.

My problem is when I have a few lights on, then turn my small 27" TV on, my inverter goes into protection mode. If I turn the lights off, turn the tv on first, then my lights I have no problem. In fact I can turn other lights on and it runs everything no problem. I just have to turn the tv on first. Obviously the tv is drawing more power to start than is available.

My question is, is there a capacitor or something that I can add in line to provide the starting power for the TV? Or is my only option to buy a more powerful inverter?

Comments

• icarus
    icarus Solar Expert Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: Powering a TV off grid system

It sounds like you have too much load on, and your battery is dropping below it's low voltage disconnect voltage.

When you speak of "a few lights on" are we talking CFLs?

Let's assume 3 cfls= ~45 watts. A Small television might draw, ~125 watts, for a combined load of ~200 watts. 200 watts/12 volts=16 amps.

16 amps is more than enough to drop the voltage of a ~300 ah battery. Couple that with inverter efficiency and it would be no surprise to see a low voltage disconnect.

Please understand, that a single small panel such as yours isn't going to put much power into your battery. Your loads, 16 amps for 1 hour=16 ah of load.