PV System Limits based on Service Panel Size

Options
RacerChris
RacerChris Registered Users Posts: 15
I received four quotes on a PV Solar GT system recently. Since i'm a newbie, I let each bidder provide whatever system they suggested. The sie ranged from 5kw to 8kw for my 3000 SF home with a Pool and a Pond. (I know, I should get rid of them to save real power...working on it)

Anyways, one instaler suggested that there is a limit to the size of the PV system based on my 200 Amp electric panel.

Can anyone confirm this and what the basis of this limit is?

Thanks all!

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,446 admin
    Options
    Re: PV System Limits based on Service Panel Size

Yea, you are only allowed to backfeed up to 120% of the service rating...
    • 200 amp x 120% = 240 Amp maximum
    So that would limit you to a pair of 40 amp (240 VAC) breakers derated by 80% or 32 Amps of solar.
    • 32 amps * 240 volts = 7,680 watt rated inverter output (i.e., ~7k watt)
    You can install a larger array--I use ~0.77 as the maximum "cost effective" derating for losses:
    • 7,000 watts * 1/0.77 = 9,091 watts of solar array
    You will get some clipping at 7kW mid day (by the gt inverter), especially in cool weather with a new/clean array... But it will not damage the inverter.

You can also "play games" with the main panel... you could, for example change to a 125 amp service breaker (if your normal home loads would allow it). Now:
    • 240 amps - 125 amps = 115 amps of solar branch circuit
    Anyway, there is lots to play with here... As you said in another thread--"the laws of diminishing return" applies here too.

-Bill
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

Yes, there is a limit depending on the size of the buss bars in the panel, and how heavily it is loaded already. :(