Need help with XW MPPT60-150 MPPT operation.

Options
Last week I received my XW-MPPT60-150 that I had Pre-Ordered from Northern Arizona Wind and Sun. Ver: 1.02, Build 0002

For the past week, I have been learning/running tests on the XW as I eventually plan to have an off-Grid Solar electric and Solar hot water home. However, I cannot get the automatic MPPT function to operate correctly and need some help figuring out what I'm doing wrong. I've read through the manual so many times yet this MPPT issue eludes me. I am an electronics technician so I have knowledge of voltage, current, meters, scopes, PC's, etc.

Right now my Solar electric setup is very small consisting of:
1) Two each 12V car type starter batteries wired in series for 24 nominal volts.
2) Four each 12V nominal, 75 Watt maximum, old PV panels. Measured panel specs: Voc~20V, Isc~3A.

The non-MPPT "Manual" operation performs correctly. I set the Input option to Manual, then set a Reference voltage which causes the XW to "clamp" the
array voltage and the available charge current goes into the 24V battery bank. No problem here.

If I configure the four panels into a 48V nominal array (four panels in series, Voc~80V, Isc~3A) in MPPT mode, my XW operates like this: