Solar Panel heater Project help!

Hi there,

First things first, I’d like to say this looks to be a great forum. There are some very interesting topics on here, and some very clued up people giving out priceless advice. Hopefully I’ve come to the write place.

I am currently in my final year at Manchester Metropolitan University studying for a degree in mechanical engineering. For my final year project, I have been given the task of coming up with some kind of back up system for a household immersion heater. This system must “green” powered using an array of solar powered photovoltaics (PV).

In the aim of getting a good mark, I’ve decided to look into installing a small DIY system to my home for testing purposes. But have come across a major stumbling block as I can’t seem to find a heating element or device that can be powered using such a low wattage give off from a small solar panel. I’ve searched high and low but have had no luck. I was wondering if any of the geniuses on here could point me in the direction.

Any help would be very helpful and much appreciated,

Thank you,
Stuart

Comments

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Re: Solar Panel heater Project help!

Sounds like the assignement is inherently due to fail. Using PV panel electric, to heat water, is nonsense. What you want is Solar heat collectors made for water. What you wrote is "assignment is to use PV electric to heat water".
    Powerfab top of pole PV mount | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||
    || Midnight Classic 200 | 10, Evergreen 200w in a 160VOC array ||
    || VEC1093 12V Charger | Maha C401 aa/aaa Charger | SureSine | Sunsaver MPPT 15A

solar: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Solar