Garage solar system size requirements?

bsolar
bsolar Solar Expert Posts: 103 ✭✭✭
Hi all, im new to all this and putting a system together as a winter project for my stand-alone garage and have 50 questions so bare with me. ive done alot of reading but i just dont have a feel for what i need exactly. I am trying to keep cost down but want performance and the ability to run a few things overnight is my goal ..
what i want to be able to run overnight
-fridge
-electric fry pan or microwave to make a meal
-computer or tv
-electric blanket
-i plan on using LED lighting

what ive aquired so far
-made (7) 144W panels from ebay cells (36 .5VX8A rated 6X6 cells)
-sunforce 2500W sine inverter
- ( 8 ) 215AH 6V batts - i was thinking wire them series/parallel to 12V

im at a point im still building frames for the panels so i havent hooked anything up yet.
-so is this enough system to sustain things without worrying about it, should i add more panels, larger inverter, a second inverter, or more batts?
-also when i wire the panels from the roof, i was thinking 12 gauge fine stranded wire from the panels and tying them all together at a common point and then running about 8 gauge main cables down to my system .. does this sound adequate?
.. im budget minded so im not going to go buy 1 grand pieces of equipment or anything, and prefer to just piece everything together diy style, but please give me any ideas or advice you can or let me know if im on the right track to a workable system :blush:
thanks,
Brad S.

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: Garage solar system size requirements?

Hello and welcome to the forum!

Shall we go right to the bad news? :cry: The first four things on your list are murder for solar electric.

Refrigerator: high start-up surge and pretty healthy over-all power consumption, plus a need for pure sine wave inverter for optimum performance.