Project

Options
Hertzfish
Hertzfish Registered Users Posts: 5
I am a senior engineering student taking senior design. My project is to build a golf cart that uses the batteries more efficiently. Now i believe we are using a 36 V golf cart motor with 6x 6V deep cycle lead acid batteries and a LCD moniter system to be used as a HUD to control the motor and show all the data from sensors.

Now I am building a solar panel roof for the golf cart. I know it wont be the most efficient to fully recharge the batteries. I am using either 1 or 2 polycrystalline solar panel, mainly the GEPV-185 MCB-001 from GE http://sunelec.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=5&products_id=1003. Now I was thinking of using a MPPT controller. any help will greatly appericiate.

This is my first time dealing with solar panels. Also if you have some points or websites in dealing with the design of the system is appreciated.

Comments

• solar_dave
    solar_dave Solar Expert Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: Project

you may also want to look at the motor controller for regenerative braking.
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,439 admin
    Options

Make sure your controller (and other components) can work with a 36 volt battery bank. It is not a very standard voltage for off-grid systems.

Keep the solar charge controller to battery bank connections short and use heavy gauge wire (read the manuals). It is critical that there be little voltage drop between the controller and the battery bank.

Also, use fusing/breakers between the major components (charge controller to battery bank, battery bank to any of your test/monitoring equipment, etc.).