Bogart/Trimetric

icarus
icarus Solar Expert Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭✭
I have been using a Bogart Trimetric battery meter for ~4 years now and it is a great tool. In addition to providing the best real time battery info, it has been flawless.

Of late I noticed an erratic reading on the amps scale. A note Bogart returned a very nice, very helpful not from Ralph Hiesey who is a principle at Bogart. He made a number of suggestions over a number of e-mails, and indeed offered for me to return the unit for any repair if it needed it, even though it is long our of warrantee. It turned out to be a loose wire between the shunt and the meter, so all for naught as it turns our.

My point in this however is to point out the very helpful, timely and without complaint. I would highly recommend their products and their service.

Tony

Comments

• moorsb
    moorsb Solar Expert Posts: 38
    Re: Bogart/Trimetric

I find the TM2020 difficult to configure. The keyboard has only 2 keys and this limits the setup process. I noticed that if you try to configure the unit while it is running with a load it seems to respond very slowly to the keyboard input. It is too busy doing calculations on the load it what I think is going on. The device should also have protection built in. A fuse, diode protection for reverse polarity and surge suppression built in would be nice to have.
    The function that this unit provides is very important for those running off of a battery system. It just needs to be easier to implement. I also found out that it will mount in a dual gang pvc electric box too, you just have to turn it sideways to fit.
  • sloarlite
    sloarlite Registered Users Posts: 15 ✭✭