Solarex MSX 120, questions??

Options
Hi,Folks, I'm a retired senior and traveling in an Rv. I'm new to Solar power, but I was given a brand new, Solarex MSX120 solar panel. It's still in it's original shipping box, and as far as I can tell, it's never been used. So if I add a good solar controller, can I possibly use this panel to charge my 4-6volt batteries. Also, later on when I save up some more $$, can I add a Kyocera 135watt. panel to it.
Thanks for all the help and any additional info.
crossroads

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,439 admin
    Options
    Re: Solarex MSX 120, questions??

That should be around Vmp=17.1 volts and Imp=7 amps... It will parallel fine with the Kyocera 135 watt panel when you are ready.

Kyocera 135 watt panel:
    Voltage at Max Power (Vmpp) 17.7
    Current at Max Power (Impp) 7.63 Amps

If you had to--You could run them in series for a 24 volt battery bank or for use with a MPPT type charge controller (Maximum Power Point Tracking)...

However, if you are going to mount the panels directly to the RV and the runs are short--a less expensive PWM type Charge Controller would work just fine (somewhere in the 20-30 amp range).

It is important that you mount the charge controller close to the battery bank with appropriate (heavy) cabling and fuse/breaker. You don't want much voltage drop between the controller and the battery bank.

A charge controller from Morning Star (PWM or smaller MPPT) or from Xantrex (PWM) would be fine.

Recommend the Remote Battery Temperature Sensor Option.

Also, if you have the interest, a Battery Monitor is a nice tool for monitoring your battery bank's state of charge.

Here is a nice thread with video from Keven in Calgary Canada that shows designing and installing solar PV in a small RV trailer. He eventually went with a MPPT type charge controller--but the rest of the information is pretty much the same for any type charge controller.