AM Radio noise from SW inverter

Options
icarus
icarus Solar Expert Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭✭
Newbie here, apologies for any misposts.

I have a 150 watt panel system with 700amp amp hours of battery. We run a parallel 12vdc and 120vac system in out remote cabin. I have a Morningstar 300 pure sine inverter. It all works famously with one exception. When the inverter is on it induces a very loud howl on the AM radio. We are in a very remote location, so the only radio we get is after sunset. It is a automobile type radio with a very large outdoor antenna. The FM band is unaffected. (It also picks up a bad buzz from the cfl light bulbs near it). Any suggestions,

Thanks

Icarus

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,443 admin
    Options
    Re: AM Radio noise from SW inverter

On my Grid Tie inverter, I get AM noise too... But it only goes about 10'...

Try:

Moving antenna farther from inverter/AC wiring, make sure antenna braid is well grounded to radio, try grounding antenna braid to earth ground.

Use a small AM radio and try to figure out where the noise is coming from (experiment with low/high AM frequency, on-station/off-station and see which setting gives you repeatable results)...

If it is the input wiring, make sure that the DC wiring runs parallel and is twisted, at least, a couple times per foot or is installed in metal conduit (grounded to the inverter case, earth ground).

If it is the output wiring, make sure that the AC wiring runs close together, and twist a couple times per foot, or run in metal conduit, grounded to inverter and earth ground.

Keep "noisy wires/equipment" away from those things you need to keep quiet (AC wires separated from DC wires, control wires separate from AC wires).

If it is the inverter body, make sure that all screws in case are tight. Try placing a grounded piece of sheetmetal over the inverter to block radio waves.