Serious Question for Solar Panel Hunt

Options
ArmyVet
ArmyVet Banned Posts: 20
I am new here, I am trying to find a place where they might
Donate a Solar Panel or Panels , I am new at the Solar Start up.
I really cant afford to go out and buy Panels because my
Monthly VA check wouldnt cover 1 panel let alone a big set -up
I do have several things already like the Batteries. Which I was able to get from a company that was replacing ther Old UPS systems, And what was funny
they had bought all new batteries for ther equipemnt , and they wasnt even a month Old. They gave it all to me free for hauling away . Added all up almost 2000 Amp Hrs ! I have a power Inverter which is
1000 watts which for me is enough, I just need a Charge Controller and
Solar panels. Any Idea's Guys. It would be a great help.

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: Serious Question for Solar Panel Hunt

The question you need to answer for us is: What are you trying to achieve?
    If it's a reduction in utility bills, spending your money/efforts on conservation will net you more.
    If you're looking for off-grid power for camping or black-out back-up generators are cheaper than solar.
    Totally off-grid full time with no utility power in sight; solar becomes a viable power source.
    If you're experimenting with solar for learning purposes, you've already learned the #1 lesson: it's expensive.

Sorry I know of no agencies donating panels for any reason. Perhaps it is different in the US.
  • niel
    niel Solar Expert Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭
    Options

armyvet,