Theft Insurance for cabin

Options
Hairfarm
Hairfarm Solar Expert Posts: 225 ✭✭✭
Can anyone recommend insurance for an off grid cabin? I'd like to insure primarily against theft.

Pros Cons?

thanks,

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: Theft Insurance for cabin

You really need to ask people with cabins in the same area as yours. It's like what Real Estate agents always say; "The three most important things about real estate are commission, commission, commission!" :p

Er, no. That's location, location, location isn't it?

Depending on where you're located, different companies will assign different risk factors to your rate.

Then when you file a claim, they up the risk factor, up your premiums, and don't come up with a settlement.
    (Sorry; I've had a lot of bad experience with insurance companies including this very issue. I'm more than somewhat jaded.)
  • Hairfarm
    Hairfarm Solar Expert Posts: 225 ✭✭✭
    Options
    (Sorry; I've had a lot of bad experience with insurance companies including this very issue. I'm more than somewhat jaded.)

Yeah, I am too. Now, I pay an old retired police captain and marine $25 a month to keep an eye on the place for me. Maybe I'll have to "Google" booby traps. ;)

Anybody have any good ideas to keep a cabin safe from thieves, short of breaking the law?
  • icarus
    icarus Solar Expert Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭✭
    Options

I insure for fire/storm damage with a whopping deductible to keep the coverage affordable. Also, I figure I will repair any damage of a couple of grand, my labour being the bulk anyway.

We have some theft coverage,, but with a high deductible it isn't going to cover much, unless we get cleaned out. To some great extent you get what you pay for.

Tony
  • Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Options

Throw 'em a bone.