Toyhauler Solar

I'm new to the solar power world, but have been watching and reading and hopefully learning. I have a toyhauler with a 5500 watt genset. I'm going to add solar so I don't have to run the generator all the time for the small 12 volt use. I have 2 T-145 Plus 6 volts in it now. I'm using an AIMS 1000 watt pure sine inverter and a 30 amp 3 way transfer switch. I have a remote control for the AIMS and a seperate battery monitor panel. I'm thinking I will add 2 Kyocera Solar KD-135 135 Watt 12 Volt Panels, roof mounted with a Go Power 25 AMP PWM controller for solar charging. I know it won't keep me off generator, but should lower the use. Any comments would be great. I'm trying to stay within a budget I've set after upgrading the toyhauler. Thanks

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: Toyhauler Solar

You've left out the most important piece of information: what are you wanting tor run from this set-up?
    Without knowing the load you can't determine how much inverter/battery/panel you need.
  • System2
    System2 Posts: 6,290 admin

Always seem to forget something important. Mostly lights, cell phone or laptop charging, and some TV, < than 2 hours a night. I cook with gas and coffee on the stove. I figure about 100 amp hours a day at the most. On hunting trips, the furance blower will draw the batteries down at night, and that will be the largest draw on the system. I will fire up the genset to charge batteries when the solar can't cut it. Usually stay out for 5-7 days max.
  • Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭

So you have a target of approximately 1200 Watt/hours per day, and if it runs out you start the generator?
    That we can deal with! :D

Rough calculations:
    100 Amp/hrs required = 200 Amp/hrs of battery = 20 Amps charge rate (peak) = 240 Watts of usable solar = approximately 300 Watts of panels.