Solar Newbie With Panel/Controller/Wattage Questions

marsofold
marsofold Solar Expert Posts: 45 ✭✭
I'm a solar newbie with some existing backup equipment that I want to augment with solar panels and a controller and would like some feedback on my plans. Looking to Sun's site at their $1.74/watt panels and thinking of buying six "SUN ES-A-205-fa" with specs of 205 watts/22.8Voc/18.40 Vmp/11.15 Imp using connector MC-4. And a Xantrex XW-MPPT-60 controller for the low RF noise, since I like to listen to shortwave. My current backup setup which currently works well:

11kw Honda GX Propane Generator/500 Gallon Tank,
200Amp Connecticut Electric Panel/Manual Transfer Switch
75Amp IOTA DLS-75/IQ4 Battery Charger,
(6) 6.25v/220AH Johnson Controls Golf Cart Batteries,
6Kw continuous/12Kw Surge MSW Inverter, 12v/120v,
1.5Kw GE Transformer 120v/240v,
100Amp Manual Transfer Switch (to switch well power to batteries).
2-Gauge Switch-to-Starter cables for the 12v connections.

The batteries are wired in series for three 12.5v strings totaling 660AH.
At 60 amps out, I'd have a 9% charge rate. Want to have six panels to guarantee a full battery charge at the end of a cloudy day. At a 50% DOD, I'd need 330AH retained and with a 90% colombic efficiency would need 367AH/day outputted from the controller. Which equals 60amps out for at least 6 hours/day.

Do you think I could get that considering that the panels' totals equal around 35% extra power at peak? Do such panels come with leads already attached or do I have to solder them on? If I do have to, standard 63/37 solder or low-temp Indium solder? Thanks...

Comments

• icarus
    icarus Solar Expert Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: Solar Newbie With Panel/Controller/Wattage Questions

Marsofold,

"Want to have six panels to guarantee a full battery charge at the end of a cloudy day. At a 50% DOD,"

I'd like to be rich, but I have to settle for handsome instead!