Solar at an Ag show

Options
Hi guys (and gals),
I am new to renewables and trying to learn a bit. The company I work for (electrical contractor) is going into the renewables market. I have been asked to get something set up for an Agricultural show. What I am looking for is input on what has worked for you.
Did you build a display with panels that powered something?
If so what did you power?
What seemed to work to get the people into your booth?
Any kind of solar giveaways that worked well?
The show will be outside and we will have a 20' x 20' (or maybe even larger).

Comments

• Windsun
    Windsun Solar Expert Posts: 1,164 ✭✭
    Options
    Re: Solar at an Ag show
    Sunburn wrote: »
    Hi guys (and gals),

...The company I work for (electrical contractor) is going into the renewables market...
    It's always scary when I hear something like that. There are many sides of "renewables" - do they really have a clue what they are getting into, and do they have anyone with any experience? Or are they just jumping on the bandwagon because of all the hype?
  • GreenPowerManiac
    GreenPowerManiac Solar Expert Posts: 453 ✭✭✭
    Options

Sounds like a Wagon Train. Simple ? That's left to be seen/heard.

Any free giveaways will be in the form of Sunshine/heat radiance upon Ag show if any, however with all the solar equipment and collectors these days, they're practically giving them away for a small amount of change per watt. Filling a 20' by 20' lot may not be easy nor cost effective for a Solar show. I'd keep it simple with small cell phone and power tool battery chargers/Panels. People might seem intimidated by large displays because they usually incorporate large costs too. It's a matter of "Can I afford to look or ignore" ?

One thing people shouldn't expect, and that's a lot of power output. Accept this and you'll be happy. Take a peek at my "Truth about Green Energy" Ezine. It might help you decide what to bring to the show.