What size battery interconnect cables

Options
Hi everyone

Newbie here again to ask another question...

I'm building an 8 battery bank inverter system which will be placed in a truck bed tool box in my Ford F250. It will be charged during the day as I drive from client to client ( I'm a mobile dog groomer) by my truck's alternator and plugged in at night to my house (charged by an 80amp IntelliPower 9180 charger with Charge Wizard ) to top off the batteries. I will have my trailer's shoreline able to plug into this inverter system to power up my tools.

The batteries are ( 8 )6v 220ah Concorde AGMs connected to a 5000 watt Aimes Inverter... connected in series/parallel... inverter cable 4/0... 400 amp fuse block to the chassis of the truck...

My question is - what size battery interconnect cables do I use? I was going to use 2/0, soldered welding cable custom cut, but should I be using the  3/0 or 4/0 size interconnect cable instead?

Thank you for your advice in advance if you have any suggestions.

Comments

• rplarry
    rplarry Solar Expert Posts: 203 ✭✭
    Options
    Re: What size battery interconnect cables

Pez
    Obviously if you used 4/0 you would not have any problems with too much current since you are useing 4/0 for the inverter connects. If your power needs are not maxing out the inverter then you can use smaller interconnects. Another possibility is to use solid bar stock as your interconnects. If your battery bank is mounted solidly and will not move then you might consider solid connects. It will save you some money. If your bank is not solidly mounted then don't consider solid and go with stranded copper at least 2/0.
    Larry
  • mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    pez wrote:
    It will be charged during the day as I drive from client to client ( I'm a mobile dog groomer) by my truck's alternator and plugged in at night to my house (charged by an 80amp IntelliPower 9180 charger with Charge Wizard )