Complete novice needing a few questions answered!!!

edd_h
edd_h Registered Users Posts: 8
Hi
I'm looking into a solar system for a friend of mine that does not know how to use a computer, and I need to know peoples thoughts on a few points and also what I need to buy.......

We live in Bordeaux France
it is for a mobile home.
Right now there is an electrical input into the mobile home where everything will be.
He has been using a motor but gasoline is very expensive over here.

I've calculated that my friend will use 140W of energy for 5 hours in the evening, thats all - TV Satelite and 3 low energy bulbs! water, fridge, stove etc will be on gas.
We know that in summer we could get a system to work very easily...

My question is in winter (overcast or misty sometimes) will we be able to set up a system that will work?

We want to install solar panels (wind is not an option due to the geographical situation - in a valley with trees all around, along with batteries and converter etc

My second question is what do I need to buy if it is possible to use this system - I think most batteries are around the same price as the states, and I can buy 100w chinese panels for 188 euros each.

thanks in advance for your help on this, it will save a great deal of time and effort if you could share your knowledge!

Cheers
Edward
ps any info needed can be supplied, via response to this thread.

Comments

• GreenPowerManiac
    GreenPowerManiac Solar Expert Posts: 453 ✭✭✭
    Re: Complete novice needing a few questions answered!!!

My question is in winter (overcast or misty sometimes) will we be able to set up a system that will work?

My second question is what do I need to buy if it is possible to use this system - I think most batteries are around the same price as the states, and I can buy 100w chinese panels for 188 euros each.

Yes. I don't see a reason why not. Winter is a tricky time for anything solar.
    Is this an Recreation Van RV ? Are you using a generator ?