Considering Solar for Surface Well Pump

Options
fellixx
fellixx Registered Users Posts: 6
Hello,

I am new to the whole topic of solar power but recently I have taken a hard look at my utility bill and I have starting looking at ways I can reduce it. Most of my major appliances are now fairly new with the exception of one very important item which is my 3/4HP well pump. This pump runs off of 240V and runs quite often to a point that I know without ever looking at the meter that it costs a lot to run it. (Hence my post here)

It only took a few Google searches to figure out that solar powered water pumping systems are out there in various forms but aside from the fact that it seems that these systems are mostly installed in remote locations it seems as if most if not all of them are for submersible pump systems combined with over sized storage tanks. I haven’t seen any publications regarding single family homes using solar power to drive surface well pumps. So to sum it all up, here are some questions I would like to pose to all of you to see if I should even consider this type of system for our household;

1. Using my existing 3/4HP well pump and pressure tank, can solar power be utilized and still maintain existing pressure? Would I have to replace one or both components?

2. Even living in sunny West Palm Beach it does rain here quite often. I was thinking of possibly running a direct powered system that was augmented by grid power. Is this even possible and does it make for a more complex and expensive system?

3. In this type of application would it still make sense to consider using batteries? My thought here is that since energy consumption is generally at its lowest when power generation for solar is at its highest it would seem to make sense to "store" the energy that’s captured for later use. I would imagine that power output would be greater as well.