Charging Ipod docking station?

Lloydy
Lloydy Registered Users Posts: 15
Hi,
I'm pretty new to solar, 12v, electronics and everything in between.

I have recently set myself up with a small solar set up (12v 33AH battery, 20W solar panel and 4.5A charge controller) mainly for charging electronics while camping for extended periods.

My ipod docking station charging requirements are 12.9V and 1.39Amps. Can I charge straight off the battery or will there be an issue with slight mismatch of volts available and charging requirements? The battery is sitting on 12.8V at present but not sure if this will begin to drop when charging begins, potentially causing a problem? The docking station has an internal Lithium-ion battery and take minimum 6 hours to charge.

Also, am I right in saying that it would be more efficient to charge using direct 12VDC rather than an inverter?

Thanks

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: Charging Ipod docking station?

Yes it is more efficient to charge from 12 VDC. An inverter would eat up a lot of power.

A tenth of a volt difference shouldn't be a problem. Chances are you couldn't even get a measurement that accurately with a DVM, and all voltage circuits fluctuate somewhat anyway. If the voltage from your battery was much higher, there would be a problem. Lower, the only potential problem is the Ipod won't charge fully.

I'd say the biggest problem you have is that 20W solar panel. It probably manages maybe 2 Amps under the best of conditions? That will be short if the Ipod is drawing 1.39 A for six hours, if something else is being used as well. That panel is probably just enough to keep the 33 Amp/hr battery up. Add another draw and .... not enough power.
  • dwh
    dwh Solar Expert Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭

Also note: Make sure that your docking station takes DC. Many small electronics that use wall warts might use 9v or 12v AC.
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin