Voltage Drop Issue

Options
I have a friend who is installing a grid tied PV system on their barn roof. They just got a quote from a "reputable firm" who is telling them there is no problem with voltage drop from the barn (sub panel) to the house (Main Ac service panel). That is exactly opposite what I told them. Using SMA's voltage drop calculator I come up with a 6% drop; way more than the recommended 1 to 2% drop.
I'm only an amateur at this stuff so how can they figure it's okay with the existing underground cable? If anyone wants to do the math themselves they have aluminum 2 awg cable run 600' they are putting in a 10 KW system that I believe will generate at least 40 amps at 240V.

Thanks in advance for all your insights.

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,439 admin
    Options
    Re: Voltage Drop Issue

Excluding code issues for the moment... There can be issues with the 6% voltage drop...
    1. You are talking about a 6% loss in power (heating of the cable). Not a huge number--but does make the 10kW array really a 9.4kW array just because of the losses. Changes the economics a bit--but it may simply not be worth the costs (trenching, wire, etc.) to install a new cable to recover 3% of the losses.
    2. Another issue is that GT Inverters have to meet fairly tight specifications for Grid Voltage ranges. For example, my grid will be as high as 245 VAC midday. 245*1.06=260VAC. The inverter should shutdown around 263 VAC or even a bit less when measurement accuracy is taken into account (over-volt fault; under voltage fault is around 212 VAC). That is not a lot of margin if the local line "runs" high in your neighborhood. Many times, the Grid Voltage is set to be somewhat towards the High End of the acceptable voltage range--and this can cause nuisance faults with a GT inverter (which causes voltages to rise, unlike loads, which cause voltages to fall).