12v solar light system - help needed

Options
System
System Posts: 2,511 admin
Hi everyone, I'm totally new to this whole idea so I need help.
I want to eventually change all my home lights to 12v MR16 LED bulbs and power them using solar energy. While the house is in a state of (never-ending) remodel I was going to run new light circuits for the upstairs and downstairs and start changing over the fixtures to the MR16 type. The initial plan is to get the infrastructure in place and run the lights off a 12v transformer so that we can get the drywall and ceilings back up and finish the remodel. That way I can worry about the solar part later.
So here is what I’m planning to do. What I need to know is if any of it is a bad idea either electrically or for solar use later on.
downstairs has 10 fixtures using between 15w to 20w CFLs. in order to maintain the same or similar level of lighting I plan to change these to about 18-20 MR16s. first question is will this be needed or should I be able to maintain a similar amount of lighting with just 1 or 2 bulbs per room? What wattage of bulbs do I need?
I was planning run 2 lighting circuits, so half the bulbs on 1 and half on the other, and to use 14-2 wire in a loop circuit to increase its current handling. Do I need more than 2 circuits and do I need heavier wire for the DC even if I run it in a loop?
Upstairs is pretty much a mirror of down so I can just repeat it upstairs.
My biggest worry is if I need to replace 1 15w bulb with 4 or 5 5w or bigger bulbs then what’s the point. Alternatively if one 5-10w LED bulb will do the job but will cost me 80-100 bucks then that’s not going to work for me either.

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,447 admin
    Options
    Re: 12v solar light system - help needed