Wire question

System
System Posts: 2,511 admin
Hi all, I am new to solar power and have just purchased a kit for my cabin. I have 3 - 20 watt panels and a 4 watt controller going to 2 - 6 volt batteries. My problem is that I have about 70 feet from my main usage area (fridge and lights) to the solar panels. Am I better off with the controller and batteries closer to the fridge or closer to the solar panels, or does it make any difference at all?

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• icarus
    icarus Solar Expert Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: Wire question

Let me first answer you basic question.

The shorter wire runs the better. The higher the amperage,, the bigger the voltage drop over distance. (not strictly true,,, but given a choice between the high amperage draw close and the low charging amperage farther away,,, I would choose the former)

Now, to answer a question that hasn't been asked (but will IMHO).

With 60 watts of panel,, there is no way on gods green earth that you are going to run ANY sort of fridge off of solar panels! As many of us have suggested in many ways on this forum,,, Do the math! Calculate your loads/charging capacity and see how much you can draw.

A short rule of thumb,, sort of down and dirty calc, is if you take 50% of your panel capacity, multiply by 4 (or maybe 6,, the number of hours of perfect sun) and that gives you a ROUGH number of watt/hours that you can expect to be able to pull out of the batteries on a perfect day. This takes into account panel efficiency, charge controller ef, battery charging ef, inverter ef, and wiring loses.

So in your case,, your 60 watts of panel, multiplied by an optimistic 6 hours would give 360 wh,,,less ~50% losses giving you somewhere around 180wh a day,,,, if you are lucky. (Smaller systems tend to be way less efficient than larger ones for a variety of reasons,, charge controllers mostly).