using a starter battery and a deep cycle battery in a vehicle

steve9856
steve9856 Registered Users Posts: 1
i may sound a little over ambitious in this project but i think it can be done i want to put a stater battery in my truck and keep it independent from the rest of the electrical system while the vehicle is off and only have it connected to the starter. then i would like to have a deep cycle battery connected to the lights, radio ect so i can power the radio and sub with the vehicle off but when the vehicle is running both batteries need to charge and be connected to the alternator. I have some knowledge about electrical components and any ideas would be appreciated. thanks.
Tagged:

Comments

• Aguarancher
    Aguarancher Solar Expert Posts: 315 ✭✭✭
  • littleharbor2
    littleharbor2 Solar Expert Posts: 2,036 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Look up, Battery Isolator Kit. I think that's what you are referring to. Lots of different choices available.

2.1 Kw Suntech 175 mono, Classic 200, Trace SW 4024 ( 15 years old  but brand new out of sealed factory box Jan. 2015), Bogart Tri-metric,  460 Ah. 24 volt LiFePo4 battery bank. Plenty of Baja Sea of Cortez sunshine.

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    You can also find some DC to DC battery chargers. And here is an interesting guy... Allows up to 15 amps of charging current between otherwise isolated batteries:

http://www.xantrex.com/power-products/power-accessories/auxiliary-battery-charger.aspx

One of the bigger issues with the typical automotive alternator is that they can output >100 Amps pretty easily--For a few minutes, but the quickly fold back on output voltage and current... Typically somewhere between 13.8 and 14.2 volts.