Unique battery situation - how to use them safely?

Options
javid
javid Registered Users Posts: 17 ✭✭
Solar newbie here!  I am looking for some help designing my battery wiring for my solar system.

I plan to do a small 48v system to service my small cabin.  Daily loads will be around 500Wh.  I have the MidNite Solar Kid 30a Charge Controller so far.

I also have a bunch of used batteries.  They are SLA 12v 18AH each.  They are used for around 3-4 years in a wind turbine pitch system before I get them and they have been treated well.  I have 25 of these batteries.  I normally wouldn't deal with used batteries since that seems like a headache from what I have read, but I will have access to 25 more batteries every year going forward, so I thought maybe I should try to figure something out to make good use of these.

As I said, I plan to do a 48V system - what would be the best way to string these batteries?  From my calculations, I need to use at least 16 of these batteries in my system (if I go to 50% DOD), but if there was a safe way to use more, I would prefer to use up to 24.  

I know it isn't ideal, but all I could come up with so far is (4) strings of (4) batteries wired in series.  Any and all help much appreciated!

Comments

• westbranch
    westbranch Solar Expert Posts: 5,183 ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    I think there is a error in your calcs...
    As I said, I plan to do a 48V system - what would be the best way to string these batteries?  From my calculations, I need to use at least 16 of these batteries in my system (if I go to 50% DOD),

I get 48V x 18 Ah x 50% = 432Wh