Confused about batteries

Options
fishsticker
fishsticker Registered Users Posts: 2
Hello, I am new to solar so please bare with me. I am trying to build a simple system to start with. I have 2 devices i want to power that run 24/7. The devices are a linksys router (120v @ 1.2A) and a cable modem (120v @ .8 A). I have found some load calculators that say i need 16 to 18 12v batteries with i think 100 or so AH. Does this sound right for these 2 devices? Seems like a ton of batteries for just these 2 devices. Please tell me i am figuring wrong??

Thanks in advance!!!

Comments

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    A single deep cycle battery, 12V 90Ah, should last 2 days, add 20W of solar, and it should be all set.
     BUT, battery charging voltage of 14.5V may make the 12V gear upset :(

Powerfab top of pole PV mount | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||
    || Midnight Classic 200 | 10, Evergreen 200w in a 160VOC array ||
    || VEC1093 12V Charger | Maha C401 aa/aaa Charger | SureSine | Sunsaver MPPT 15A

solar: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Solar
    gen: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Lister ,

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,439 admin
    Options
    The "labels" on AC devices are usually "wrong" (at least do not provide accurate information for our use).

If you can, get a Kill-a-Watt type meter (some libraries have them to loan out) and measure your loads. Run them for 24 hours to get a Watt*Hour per day average.

You also did not tell us much about your needs... is this 5/10/24 hours per day?