Very new to solar, question about my controller and system!

cg52
cg52 Registered Users Posts: 1
Hi,
I recently purchased an off-grid cabin with (what I think is) a 12 volt solar system in place.  It has 2 batteries in the battery bank and a "Thunderbolt Magnus Solar 4 amp, 12 volt charge controller."  There are panels outside wired in - no inverter.  Throughout the summer the reader always was between 11 - 12.4.  Now, in the winter (I'm in Seattle) there is nothing on the display at all.  Despite this, we still have some power - using the lights at night.  Only once or twice did they dim or go out.  

I am VERY new to this, and get lost easily in numbers and jargon.

Any ideas on what's going on with my system?  Do I need a new battery or two?  Should I add a couple of batteries?
Any (basic, layman's terms) insight is welcomed.  I'm trying to read up on everything, but am pretty busy with work -- studying after a long day is proving difficult.

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• vtmaps
    vtmaps Solar Expert Posts: 3,741 ✭✭✭✭
    Welcome to the forum.

Your batteries are dead.  Before you replace them, we should figure out whether the system can supply your needs.  If you are running an energy deficit, buying new batteries will be a waste of money because they will die young.

You're in Seattle?  I've never been there, but I hear there are some clouds... do you have a generator to charge the batteries when it's cloudy?

You need to define what you want from this system... Just DC lights? Are they LED lights?  How many watts do they draw, and for how many hours per day?

When you know how many watthours of energy you use per day, then you can properly choose a battery that can handle the load.  After the battery is chosen, you need to have enough resources (solar or generator) to keep the battery happy.  Being off grid is really all about the battery.

--vtMaps