Newbie Qn from Madagascar re 200 watt PV panel with 39v Voc and 24v charge controller

Radcol
Radcol Registered Users Posts: 5
Greetings from Madagascar! 

I am a newbie to your forum trying to make sense of a system I have bought for a project in rural Madagascar. We bought two 200w PV panels with the following listed specifications:

Max Power: 200w
Open circuit voltage 21.6v
Operating voltage: 18v
Short circuit current: 9.17A
Operating current: 8.33A
Max system voltage: 1000v
Power tolerance: 3%

The seller also sold us a 12/24v 20A charge controller to go with this system.

We also bought two 150Ah 12v batteries.

Now that we are installing the system on the school, I checked the PV panel (Open circuit) voltage and get a reading of 39 volts on each panel. This is considerably higher than the 21.6v listed on the specs plate on the back of each panel, and although they told me at the time the panels were made in Germany, I suspect they were made in China  and I am not sure I can trust what it says on the back.  

So, my question is this: If the actual (meter tested) Voc is 39 volts, before making any connections to any other components, can I assume that the 24v charge controller will handle this as an initial input voltage, or will this "correct itself" once the components are connected, or should I be looking for a 36v charge controller instead?  I don't want to burn out any components right from the beginning and would rather be safe than sorry.  Thanks in advance for any suggestions or recommendations you can give. 

Colin.

Comments

• vtmaps
    vtmaps Solar Expert Posts: 3,741 ✭✭✭✭
    Welcome to the forum.

Some panels are configurable.  That means there is a junction box on the panel that allows the panel to be wired as a (nominal) 12 volt or as a 24 volt panel.  Perhaps that's what you have... otherwise, I can't think of a reason why you would measure 39 volts open circuit.