3-phase pump, run on single phase supply??

lazza
lazza Solar Expert Posts: 336 ✭✭✭
HI.

I've been looking at some the well pumps installed here, which are giving problems (unfortunately i'm a novice when it comes to understanding pumps). I see recurring theme- I see what appears to be 3-phase pumps, with a capacitor between two of the motor's phases (not starter caps), which appears to be a method to run the 3-phase pump of a single phase supply.

Could this be what pump installers are doing? if so, what are the problems associated?

Comments

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I'm not very sure you can "just add a cap or two" and that will allow a 3ph pump to run,  3 phase motors have no "starting" winding, because of the rotation induced from the 3 phases, it's not needed.   A couple of caps may allow a motor to "run" once it was spun up, but it's much better to use a VFD controller to run 3ph from 1ph.
    resources:
    http://www.danfoss.com/nr/rdonlyres/8c303cb7-23a2-4b8b-aa92-1efe1f83f927/0/waterintrolesson.pdf
     &
    http://www.southlandautomation.com/t-VFD.aspx

After about 2HP, the controllers start getting real expensive

Powerfab top of pole PV mount | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||
    || Midnight Classic 200 | 10, Evergreen 200w in a 160VOC array ||
    || VEC1093 12V Charger | Maha C401 aa/aaa Charger | SureSine | Sunsaver MPPT 15A

solar: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Solar
    gen: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Lister ,

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,422 admin
    We talked about this some in one of your threads from last year:

http://forum.solar-electric.com/discussion/23995/single-phase-to-3-phase-converters