215w solar panel

Options
I am new to solar energy but i want to install 215w panel and need 700watts everyday. I have some questions to ask.
1: what system would you suggest, 12v or 24v and how many 12v or 24v battries will i need? and which power inverter and charge controller should i buy?
2: how many 12v and 24v battries can be charged in 8 hours by 215w panel?
please help. thanx in advance.
cheekyman:D

Comments

• Dapdan
    Dapdan Solar Expert Posts: 330 ✭✭
    Options
    Re: 215w solar panel

Hey,

For anyone on this forum to better advise, you will have to supply and/or correct some of the info you supplied:

1. what is your environment like so a derrating factor can be appro. for the peformance of your solar panel (in the winter where the batteries many be affected more and summer where the panels will be affected more)

2. your energy usage in terms of watt hours and not just watts. so you need to approx the time of the usage times the operating watts of the items you want to power and add them up for your total.

3. Generally you can get 12v inverters cheaper than 24v inverters. also i have read that the rule of thumb is that if your max. require wattage (surge) is greater than 2000w then you should be looking at least 24v system to minimise the cose of cable runs and fuses/breakers. so since you have a small system i would say you will be probably looking at a 12v system.

4. Specs of the panels (V & I oc , V & I mp)

the amount of storage (or how many batteries) will depend on point #2 in this reply and to a lesser extent point #1 (depending heavily on the environment the battery will be stored in)