RV Solar Sizing

I am new to solar and am trying to determine what size solar panel(s) and related equipment to order for a small class B van.

I have estimated that I will use no more than 65 amps per day at 12 VDC. 66% of the usage will be at night. I have a bank of two 100 amp 12VDC flooded batteries. My van has a 130 amp alternator and I drive a minimun of 1 hour per day while camping. I will not exceed five days of camping, typically 3 days. I would prefer to discharge the batteries about 25% most of the time and never more than 50%. I have enough flexibility in my 65 amp/day budget that I could reduce usage by 20 amps/day in an unusual situation (ie rain etc).

In my modelling I came up with a 205W Kyocera panel and Morningsrat Mppt controller, which would be expensive and perhaps overkill. On the lower side I came up with a 135W Kyocera panel with Morningstar Sunsaver which is significantly less expensive, but might require some power management in some cases.

Can someone validate that I am on the right track and help with the judgement of which option is the best, or a better option?

Comments

• icarus
    icarus Solar Expert Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: RV Solar Sizing

You are indeed on the right track,,, and I congratulate you for doing your homework and doing your math,,, thanks

First, your batteries , (using rough numbers throughout) with a 65 ah load would use ~32% of capacity each day, assuming no charge. That sounds about right for the battery sizing.

Second,, it is recommended that Solar charging amperage should be between 5-13% of capacity. That would mean with your 200 ah of battery you would be looking for between 10-26amps of charging capacity, so your 205 panel would be something like 20 amps, the 135 perhaps 11, both with in the range.