Inverter question - newbie

Options
medic29
medic29 Registered Users Posts: 17
Good evening. I'm a newbie at all of this and have several questions, but the one at hand is in reference to inverters and charging a set of batteries.

My eventual plan is to have a solar setup to power my cabin. As of right now, I need to hold off on getting the solar panels, but would like to get a battery (or batteries) and an inverter so that I can power my cabin. It is a small cabin, less than 400 sq. ft. The only things I plan to power are a fan or two during the night and maybe a small radio during the evening. This may grow later to powering a few lights, but as of right now the lights are powered via propane.

It has been suggested I look at the Morningstar 300 inverter. It has also been suggested I look at a 100Ah AGM battery.

The question I have is about charging the battery. I would like to charge the battery for now by utilizing a generator. Will the Morningstar inverter also charge the battery when plugged into the generator? I know there are some inverter/chargers out there in which they sense AC power and automatically start charging the battery, then when they loose the AC power they automatically switch and make power from the charge in the battery. I don't know if the Morningstar inverter is this type of inverter or not; or if I would need to purchase a seperate charger as well, then when running the generator I would take the inverter out of the loop and charge the battery and supply power to the cabin; then later when the generator is off, put the inverter back in-line and it can get power from the battery, convert it to AC and power the cabin.

I hope this makes sense. Any help would be appreciated.

Comments

• icarus
    icarus Solar Expert Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: Inverter question - newbie

First,