Total beginner

Options
I have no idea what I'm doing. Should I take the time to learn and build myself or get someone to do it for me. Have any of you tried any of these deleted by niel, see below? I am not really good at math or technical things, but I have construction experience and no problem building stuff. From what I looked at so far, I think I would be able to afford all of the supplies and everything.:confused:

i was going to allow this listing except that it singled out one in particular at the top with a .com address. there were complaints too and i had to act on it. next time you know it can't single out one in particular with the exception of naws as they are the sponsor of this forum.

Comments

• icarus
    icarus Solar Expert Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: Total beginner

The first thing you have to do is define what it is that you are trying to do. Grid tie, off grid,, hybird system? What are you trying to achieve? Reduce your gird bill? Save money? Save the planet?

A few quick observations that will hold true throughout. Your cheapest energy dollar is conservation. Conservation first, followed by more conservation, and followed by still more conservation, then perhaps followed by solar hot water, and only then PV Solar.

Grid tie will come at a cost of ~$8-10 per watt before rebates,, off grid about double.
    The bottom line, it isn't a cheap way to save money.

After you figure our what you wish to do, people here can steer you in the right directions.

Tony
  • niel
    niel Solar Expert Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭
    Options