a newbie question regarding 3 solar panels and charger controller

maznos
maznos Registered Users Posts: 4
Hello,

I have a triplite 3636 power backup and was used with the area power lines.

these days we are not able to get electricity from power lines so I bought 3 100W solar panels to charge the batteries.
when I use the multimeter I found that the voltage is not 36v (56v sometimes), is this OK?

I read that an MPPT controller is required to control the charging operation, but most of the controllers I found was noted it is 12/24 V only while it mention that it is for systems upto 48v, please advice

sorry this is my first time regarding solar systems so I think my question might be a bit less explaining.

waiting for your helpful replies

regards

Maz

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    36 volt battery bank, the UPS specifications says.

56 volts is awfully high charging voltage, roughly equal to 18.7 volts on a 12 volt battery. Depending on the type of battery:

Flooded Cell -- 14.7 volts typical absorb voltage set point--Perhaps 15 to 16 volts for Equalization (something like 1 hour per month typical)
    AGM -- 14.4 volts typical absorb. No equalization
    GEL -- 14.2 volts typical absorb. No equalization

Float charging is usually somewhere around 13.6 volts or so.

Multiply those numbers by 3x for 36 volt battery bank:

Flooded Cell -- 44.1 volts typical absorb voltage set point--Perhaps 45 to 48 volts for Equalization (something like 1 hour per month typical)
    AGM -- 43.2 volts typical absorb. No equalization
    GEL -- 42.6 volts typical absorb. No equalization
    Float -- 40.8 volts (roughly)

All the above is at room temperature. If the batteries are very warm, the charging voltage should be reduced a bit. If the battery bank is very cold, then charging voltages are increased.