The use of batteries

Options
Hi guys,

I'm trying to understand what the solar generation work, I'm new.
I'm an electrical engineer (jr) so it was very obvious to me, that's what I thought.
Solar Panels + charger + batteries + inverter and the controller: free electricity
But now I saw some videos on youtube where they use only two elements: Solar panels and the inverter witch is connected to the main electricity counter. This way we don't need any bateries, the controller and the rest. It is very simple, less expensive.

So my question is what is the advantages and disadvantages of 1st method vs the other? Do I miss anything?
What is the reason to store the energy to the batteries when we can sell/buy the electricity?

Thank you

Comments

• peterako
    peterako Solar Expert Posts: 144 ✭✭
    Options
    Re: The use of batteries

Hi there,

First there is off grid. You need battery's, charging needs energy so you are loosing some energy here plus battery's are expensive.

second there is on grid you feed back to the grid to compensate your e-bill. but when there is a power cut your system is switched off it is a slave from the grid. the grid is always master.
    To avoid this there is on grid plus battery backup.

i hoop this helps to explain.
    Greetings from Greece
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,439 admin
    Options

The second method is called Utility Interactive or Grid Tied Inverter...

The GT Inverter takes all of the power the solar panels can generate (depending on sun, position, weather) and pumps it out, typically, as 240 VAC60Hz (for north America) power into the home/business AC wiring.

If the home is using more power than the GT inverter generates, then the utility line makes up the difference.

If the GT Inverter produces more power than the home needs, then the extra power is pushed out to the utility...