Budget Effeciency Apartment System - Just a Dent... please help a noob!!!

Djimbe
Djimbe Registered Users Posts: 1
I want to do some VERY simple panels to my grid inside my windows in my apartment.
I live on a fixed income and my electric bill is like $200/mo.
I am coming into some $ soon and I would like to use it to make as big a dent as I can in my bill every month.
I am looking for cheap efficient (probably Chinese) gear that will likely come from amazon, Ebay, or Harbor Freight or something. (Im saying whatever works cheapest is in - Im no snob)
I have 5 windows @67' x 38' in two rooms.

most of us dont have nice big houses or permission to permanently alter our properties. most people these days rent... should we not have solar as well?
I just want to slow my meter down by a fair bit.

I have no experience in this of any kind.
I cannot use a battery bank for several reasons

Comments

• waynefromnscanada
    waynefromnscanada Solar Expert Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭✭

You're looking for help?
    I can honestly give you this one serious bit of advice on saving money - - - - DO NOT spend any money at all on solar panels that will be mounted inside a building and trying to collect solar electric energy through windows!
    The ONLY one to gain from such an installation will be the person selling you the solar panels etc, and that person will laugh all the way to the bank.
    If someone has told you your proposed installation would save you money, they are either trying to make a fool of you - - or they've been deceived into believing a lie.
  • Photowhit
    Photowhit Solar Expert Posts: 6,002 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Inside your windows you will never produce enough electric to pay for the equipment.