If you had $1500 to buy a PV system...

Options
PV Newbie here... I'm a technical guy, but nervous about the state of our economy of late and dont feel like I have a whole lot of time to do the necessary homework and due diligence for researching ideal designs and good deals.

I live in Seattle WA, the land of the rusty people... we can go months without a day of direct sunlight and I really haven't seen much online about the effeciency of PV generation in such weather conditions or which composition of PV material is optimal.

So I'd be curious to invite the experts on here (of which it appears there are many) to come up with a reccomendation of pieces parts for a solution in the $1000 category. To include batteries, panels, controllers, etc.

The target load would be the best you can get for the money. Sustaining minimal household operations in an urban area for an extended grid-down period of time.

Would love to see what folks can come up with...
Cheers!
-Greg

Comments

• icarus
    icarus Solar Expert Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: If you had $1500 to buy a PV system...

With all due respect,,,If you are trying to save money to help with the current energy/financial crisis, I suggest that you spend your ~$1500 on conservation. After that spend some more on conservation, and finally, spend some more on conservation!

In all seriousness, if you haven't done EVERYTHING to reduce consumption, then you are throwing your RE $$ away. The next thought would be solar hot water. I know from experience that solar hot water works quite well even in the PNW, (net/net year 'round).

Other than that, consider reading and understand all that you can on the subject and try to avoid the "ready, fire aim syndrome"

Tony
  • wxh3
    wxh3 Solar Expert Posts: 70 ✭✭✭✭
    Options