Solar system / How-to or tips ?

Options
Hi guys !
I would like to setup a solar panel system on my front deck roof which is 32'...
I am planning on using 24 x 15w panels of 3'x1' I should get @ approx. 3.80$/w.
Can you tell me what I would be missing to connect it all as a primary energy system for my house, electrical system being the backup one then ?( im pretty new to all this and this should be a perfect continuity to my home automation system.

I have seen some power hubs out there and I am basically wondering how I should connect all this ? Anyone could skectch out a quick setup to give me an idea of the required equipment and work load ?

Thx !

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,439 admin
    Options
    Re: Solar system / How-to or tips ?

loowee,

Take a look at this link (Xantrex) or Outback for a quick description about solar -> electrical energy.

In the end, practical solar electric power requires you to 1. Conserve, 2. Understand your power needs, and 3. spend quite a bit of money to achieve.

24x 15 watt panels isn't much... But you may be talking about 24x 150 watt panels--a goodly amount for running a reasonably efficient home.

But, remember, solar electric power is not cheap--it makes sense to run electronics, pumps, and such--but very little sense to run electric heaters.

So--while you are getting a good price per watt for your solar panels, you will need other equipment to control the DC solar power (AC Grid Tied Inverter, Solar Charge controller, and/or a hybrid system). Plus, batteries.

It is difficult to create one post that will give you a list and instructions how to build your system... And without knowing your requirements, it is difficult to even guess what your desires/needs are...