New to solar, Massachusetts

lasitter
lasitter Solar Expert Posts: 56 ✭✭
OK, so I'm a noob and not from Arizona, but I'll stick my nose in here anyway for a question or two.

Of course I'd appreciate any and all links to FAQs or particularly informative stickies, but I do have some specific areas where I know that I'm in need of education.

All my life I've wanted to try renewable energy, and now that I'm having to move from Rhode Island to Massachusetts (wife's new job) I think I have my chance.

I don't confess to understanding all the credits and rebates, but it seems that there are strong incentives for installing up to a 15kw solar system.

It's really easy to understand the concept of using solar as it's being generated or that of putting excess energy on the grid and in exchange getting even more credits. What I hadn't thought much on until today was whether it might make sense to store generated solar energy in batteries and then pull that energy back out of the batteries when it's dark.

So one of the first big questions I have is how many big batteries do you have to get and of what rating to push big inverters to supply xxx watts for so many hours.

So taking your typical home and applying whatever scenarios you would like, what do you see as a number of years break even point to string together up to four MS4124PAEs, panels, routers some Big Reds, etc., etc., and maximizing life off the grid?

I'm also looking at how all the other pieces of the energy puzzle go together. I originally thought of having a natural gas generator only for backup power, then I realized that running a big generator to power a light bulb might be kind of expensive.

So then I had the idea about getting big batteries that a generator could charge, and running everything off the inverters, thereby generating low duty cycle requirements for the generator.

But if you get really big batteries and a big solar array, maybe the generator itself becomes a "just in case" item.