grounding my solar panels....

Options
mark13
mark13 Registered Users Posts: 1
Im not a electrician ....... I just installed solar panels up on the roof, they are just 2 X 100 watts as a test ...... Do they need to be grounded ? If so how do I ground the panels when they are up on a roof ? I do see a ground spike where the pool filter is about a 100 feet away ....

Comments

• niel
    niel Solar Expert Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: grounding my solar panels....

even though it is for testing purposes only, i would still say it needs grounded. at a minimum use at least #8 copper wire from the pv frames in one continuous run to the ground rod. 100ft away is too far. you should have one around your utility meter. if this is not easy to get to or is also too far (say more than roughly 35ft away) then consider driving in a rod, even if a smaller one that is not nec approved, for a temporary ground. for a permanent install more measures that are proper should be followed, but your pvs are lightning rods and will attract it so some form of ground connection should be in place.
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,447 admin
    Options

As Niel says, they do not need to be grounded to "work".

However, they should be grounded for safety (both for lightning and static buildup, and if there is a broken panel/wiring)--And should be grounded if on roof/permanently installed.

-Bill
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Options

Dissenting opinion here.

1). Grounding of PV frames/mounts or wiring does nothing for lightning protection really.
    2). Thousands of PV's are installed without grounds and without problems. RV installs for example.