Can You Stack Inverters to Change Battery Input Voltage? And Other Questions...

catamount
catamount Registered Users Posts: 12
Howdy all! I'm new here, 1st post. I have however done a lot of reading here and elsewhere. PS I did try to search here for this question and couldn't find it.

I am a former military electrician and do my own wiring projects, have some familiarity with the NEC and have been reading about PV design for the past few years. There is/was a lot for me to learn in PV design; it's just not like supplying an outbuilding with 240 volts! But the point is, I'm not a complete noob, so don't dumb it down too much for me. ;)

I live in a place where the grid is not an option. Currently I stay in a camper while I build a small cabin and I use a generator for most power. I do have a couple L16 batteries, 300 watts in 12V panels, and a chinese 30 amp PWM CC. While I am in the process of building my house I am also planning for the PV system. We cannot or will not get a loan, so everything we do is saved for and paid for up front. Which has an influence on my future PV system; for example I can't shell out 1,000s of dollars to get a bulk deal on panels.

So, because I have to spend money to build a place to live, my plan is to build slowly or by steps up to a 5kw array size. I do understand that this is not the ideal way to proceed, but it is what it is and I can't change it.

I was planning on Outback equipment because of it's reputation, the fact that the CC and inverter can talk to each other, and my neighbor has a 5kw Outback system and I thought we could help each other if we need tech support. I've recently learned here that the Outback CC causes EMI interference and I use a cell phone repeater so I've changed my mind on that. But anyway, before I learned this I was at a trade show a little while ago...