New install

Options
I have a 2 story house with a tall south facing wall that faces15 degrees west of true South. I have a 2 foot over hang on this end and it is a gable so I can't put the panels on the roof. My question is in the summer time will the gable end of the house shade some of the roof panels if I mount them half way up the south side of the house? Does the sun get more than straight over head in the peak of summer is the real question? I live in Northwest Arkansas.

Comments

• waynefromnscanada
    waynefromnscanada Solar Expert Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: New install

Welcome to the forum "mb".
    While I have no experience living in your area, here in Nova Scotia, which is much further North than where you live, any overhang would definitely cause shading on the South side, especially during late Spring / early Summer when the sun rises to the North of East, sets to the North of West, and is high overhead at noon. During those times of the year, I would fully expect the situation to be much worse for you, being so much further South.
  • vtmaps
    vtmaps Solar Expert Posts: 3,741 ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    mb4859 wrote: »
    I have a 2 story house with a tall south facing wall that faces15 degrees west of true South. I have a 2 foot over hang on this end and it is a gable so I can't put the panels on the roof. My question is in the summer time will the gable end of the house shade some of the roof panels if I mount them half way up the south side of the house? Does the sun get more than straight over head in the peak of summer is the real question? I live in Northwest Arkansas.

If you have sun on your east and west roof slopes, why not put the panels there?

Back when solar panels were very expensive, it was cost effective to mount the panels on a pole and use a motor to aim the panels at the sun. Now that panels are so cheap, more folks find it more cost effective to just add a few more panels, rather than try to track mechanically.