Sunny Boy 7000 - TL or non TL?

Options
Craigaz
Craigaz Registered Users Posts: 4
Hi gang,
I'm a noob so please be gentle. I have pretty much settled on this inverter but I'm not sure which is the better option, transformerless or the standard model. Cost difference is minimal so put that aside, which one would you choose and why?

Thanks in advance for your help, I really appreciate it.

BTW - It will be powered by 30 Canadian Solar CS6P-250M panels in sunny Arizona @ 18 degrees elevation, due south with no shading.

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,439 admin
    Options
    Re: Sunny Boy 7000 - TL or non TL?

I am not sure which "would be better"...

However, you should check with your local building department/utility to see if the "new" transformer-less design is acceptable (I don't know, but anything new can have drawbacks when dealing with building inspectors/utilities).

-Bill
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • solarix
    solarix Solar Expert Posts: 713 ✭✭
    Options

If I was you, I would put in two of the smaller new TL Sunnyboys. Yes it will cost a little more, and you'll have the extra expense of an AC combiner, but these 3,4,5kW Sunnyboys have the new emergency power feature. In an outage, you will have two outlets to switch over your important loads to -you'll be off-grid with no batteries! (when the sun is up) Plus these TL inverters have dual inputs - making your array more shade tolerant if that is a problem. Unfortunately, SMA is only doing this in the smaller models. Hopefully, the 6 and 7kW sizes are going to be upgraded before long. With 2 small inverters - each having dual inputs, you will have 4 individually optimized strings. 30 modules total would be two strings of 7 and two of 8. (might be able to do strings as short as 6 on these inverters - check the SMA.com string sizer).
  • jaggedben
    jaggedben Solar Expert Posts: 230 ✭✭
    Options