solar panel not running inverter. im so confused

Options
smarttim21
smarttim21 Registered Users Posts: 2
hi guys im very new to the solar industry.

I live in buffalo ny. got plenty of sun lately.
I built my own solar panel using 36 3x6 inch cells I am getting a reading of 18v not connected to anything with the panel sitting outside. then I have a sun 250G grid tie inverter. when I connect the panel to the inverter the voltage drops to around 3v and its not running the inverter. I figured the cells I am using are rated at 1.5watts each they should be enough added up to run this inverter on the inverter it says good to use 10.8 volts up to 22 volts.
so brings the question.... what am I doing wrong??? im confused I tried looking around online and here and cant seem to find anything relating to this kind of problem. any help would be great thank you Tim

Comments

• Windsun
    Windsun Solar Expert Posts: 1,164 ✭✭
    Options
    Re: solar panel not running inverter. im so confused

Sounds like the most likely problem is in the panel, probably a high resistance connection between cells somewhere, or possibly miswired cells. Try putting a small 12 volt light - 5-20 watts or so - across the panel output and see if it does anything.
  • WillBkool
    WillBkool Solar Expert Posts: 35 ✭✭
    Options

If your voltage drops to 3 volts under load, and the inverter needs a minimum voltage of 10.8v, then you don't have enough volts to run the inverter. Homemade solar cells are not usually the best, especially for grid tie.
    1220 Watts, 4 Evergreen 120 watt, 1 Eoplly 190 watt; 1 Sungold 200 watt; 2 175 Watt; M-Star 15A MPPT; C40 PWM; 6 105 AH AGM Configured to 315@24V
    Cotek 1500 watt/24v
  • Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Options

Welcome to the forum.