Suggestions Please!

Options
johnmckay1969
johnmckay1969 Registered Users Posts: 8
I am new to solar and over the past two weeks, I have read so much that my eyes hurt. Some of the information I understand and some, not too sure. I'm looking for some suggestions, based on the following info.

I had a cheap harbor freight 45W solar kit that worked fine for about 6 months. Now the panels are barely charging. I got this kit based on a friends recommendation. His still works after 3yrs, mine does not. I should have used that money for some quality components, which is what I want to do now.

I have two deep cycle Exide batteries, with 105Ah rating and 182 reserve capacity. I use them to run a 65w mobile radio, charge hand held radios, flashlights, cell phones, and cordless tool battery chargers. The mobile radio uses little to no power, unless transmitting. The cordless tool chargers are 7amp. All the other chargers are half this amperage or less. The mobile radio and a 12V, 1500W inverter, are connected directly to the batteries. The rechargeable items all run off the inverter. The batteries will be about 8' from the controller and the panels about 12'. From what I have read, I need the panel wattage to be equal to the Ah of the batteries. I did extensive reading on batteries. From what I gather, the RC is the most important rating to consider? The above items are my priority but I have been considering the possibility of running a freezer, just in case of an extended power outage.

I'm now looking at something in the 200-250W range, like this.
http://www.solar-electric.com/kyocera-kd245gx-lfb-245-watt-polycrystalline-solar-panel.html

And a MPPT controller like this.
http://www.solar-electric.com/mosumpsochco.html

And MC4 cables
http://www.solar-electric.com/30fomc4so2ex.html

Any suggestions that may be better than these items?
Thanks!

Comments

• niel
    niel Solar Expert Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: Suggestions Please!