Fans in barn

Nita
Nita Registered Users Posts: 6
I am very new to all of this, so pardon my lack of knowledge. I have never used anything solar besides a motion activated solar light. I am trying to find information on running two box fans on a marine battery in my barn. I want to hook up a solar panel to recharge the marine batteries.
My main question is, if I run the fans on a 300 or 400 watt inverter, can I leave the inverter running 24/7 for days, even months, at a time? Will an inexpensive inverter work, or would I need a marine inverter. It's outdoors, but will be under a roof. Exposed to lots of humidity, but not direct rain.
It's ok if the batteries drain down at night. I don't need the fans so much after dark. But, if the inverter's low voltage alarm goes off, it would just keep running. Will that alarm go off by itself when the batteries charge back up?
Also, I've searched for large 12 volt fans so I won't have to run an inverter. But, I can't seem to find any that are large enough. Any suggestions there would be appreciated.

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: Fans in barn

Welcome to the forum.

The first question is: How much power do the fans draw?
    This can be measured with a Kill-A-Watt meter and should be done. No sense guessing or trying to go by manufacturer's spec's on the fans. There are two numbers you need: the running Watts, and the Watt hours which is the total amount of energy consumed over a period of time (usually 24 hours).

The second question is: Why do you want to do this?
    Unless there is no utility power available at the barn there is no point in trying to run the fans from solar.