Disappointed with Wind Turbine

Dave Sweeney
Dave Sweeney Registered Users Posts: 2
Hi Guys, i'm new to all this...I have 7 x 100w solar panels and a 500w wind turbine all 12v system and all Grid Tied. i'm happy enough with the solar but the wind turbine is disappointing to say the least. I have it about 30 feet in the air in a fairly open situation in the west of Ireland, it starts up great with its 3 blades but I have only ever seen 120w out of it in really strong winds (30-40mph), its connected to a Sun 500 10.8-30v 12v GTI with max 600w, it seams to take a good gust of wind (20mph) for the turbine to reach 10v which is the kick-in voltage of the GTI but soon as it does the GTI loads the turbine and starts to slow it down again, the only time it has the power to overcome the load of the GTI is in storm like conditions.. any thoughts?

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: Disappointed with Wind Turbine

Welcome to the forum Dave.

I've moved your inquiry to its own thread for clarity.

Most of us would not be surprised at your situation as turbines, especially small ones, rarely work well.

To determine what, if anything, can be done to improve the situation we're going to need some more details such as the make and model of the turbine itself and its published specifications.

12 Volt GTI's aren't exactly great either, as they rely on some fairly substantial input current to make power (600 Watts / 12 Volts = roughly 50 Amps). The wire distance between the turbine and the GTI could be using up a lot of power as well; 12 Volts doesn't travel very far. For example you'd need 8 AWG just to get it down the 30' tower without too much loss. Wire sizing and distances can be very important, as it does sound as though the moment the GTI starts to put load on the turbine the Voltage drops.
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin

This is an ongoing issue with wind systems--Less than expected/predicted output.