External low voltage disconnect> anyone use one ?

Options
sunbunny
sunbunny Solar Expert Posts: 59 ✭✭✭✭
Hello all.
I'm reading a lot and collecting components for an off grid system.
Someone gave me 10 slightly used AGM batteries;100 amp and I've bought 8 Renogy 250 watt panels.
The array will be 48 volts, the batteries 24 volts. Next purchase: Flexmax80.

Now, I'm studying inverters. What I don't like about any of them is the built in low voltage disconnect is too low. I realize I should be monitoring everything closely but an external low voltage disconnect seems like cheap insurance for my batteries.
Any opinions ?
Thanks

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: External low voltage disconnect> anyone use one ?

Welcome to the forum.

You are correct that many an inverter's LVD is set too low. Most inexpensive 12 Volt inverters will go on down to 10.5 Volts, for example.

The best solution is to buy a better inverter that has a programmable LVD. You are going for a 24 Volt system, which opens up the possibilities of using perhaps an Outback 3524. Setting the LVD to nominal system Voltage pretty much precludes drawing batteries too low.

Adding such a safety afterwards is not easy. Yes, you can get programmable Voltage controlled relay drivers: http://www.solar-electric.com/moredr.html The thing is, for controlling an inverter you need a relay capable of handling substantial current. And of course the extra circuitry uses extra power.
  • Blackcherry04
    Blackcherry04 Solar Expert Posts: 2,490 ✭✭✭
    Options
    sunbunny wrote: »
    Hello all.
    I'm reading a lot and collecting components for an off grid system.
    Someone gave me 10 slightly used AGM batteries;100 amp and I've bought 8 Renogy 250 watt panels.
    The array will be 48 volts, the batteries 24 volts. Next purchase: Flexmax80.