Recommed me a Solar

lolanista
lolanista Registered Users Posts: 1
I just want my Nanostation M5 which is 24 V DC written on its power adapter which i wanna keep running 24 hours + i wanna light up 4-6 bulbs might each of 3-5 watt for 3-6 hours

What kind of solar system must i have?

And do i need a inverter to make my Nanostation M5 run

Please suggest me i am new to scene:blush:

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: Recommed me a Solar

Welcome to the forum Lolanista!

Are you in Nepal? One of the things that is helpful is to understand how much sun you get per day... One way is the "hours of noon time equivalent" sun... For many regions with pretty good sun, you can average 4 hours of sun or more for ~9 months of the year.

In other regions, you may have more or less, or sometimes less than 2 hours per day of you have heavy clouds/marine layer.

Anyway, some equations that will get you started.
    lolanista wrote: »
    I just want my Nanostation M5 which is 24 V DC written on its power adapter which i wanna keep running 24 hours + i wanna light up 4-6 bulbs might each of 3-5 watt for 3-6 hours

24 VDC system... A true off grid battery system will nominally operate between ~23.0 to 29.6 volts or so, and sometimes charge to 30 to 31+ volts for equalization (and if your system will be in sub freezing conditions, the battery voltage will even be higher).

That is a pretty wide range for a 24 volt device that may not be designed for a true deep cycle battery system. I don't know anything about the product, so I cannot help you there.

Also, we need to know the power usage... From here (PDF):

http://dl.ubnt.com/datasheets/nanostationm/nsm_ds_web.pdf

It says 8 watts maximum (I am guessing on model/usage)... So the power usage could look like:
    • 8 watts * 24 hours per day = 192 WH per day
    • 6 bulbs * 5 watt * 6 hours per day = 180 WH per day
    • ==========================
    • Total = 372 WH per day