Questions about Solar equipment

System
System Posts: 2,511 admin
Hello everyone my name is Ryan and I have some questions about what solar components I need to get. I am a college student that is part of renewable energy club on campus. We were donated 4 solar pv panels 3 of them the glass is shattered on the inside but the plastic is still holding everything together. Here are some specs for the panels

Prated = 190 Watts
Vmax = 26.7 Volts
Imax = 7.12 Amps
Voc = 32.8 Volts
Isc = 8.05 Amps

Our project is we want to build a solar trailer , with panels, a charge controller, battery pack, and modified sine wave inverter. The purpose of this trailer will be able to take it to club events and show it off so running a fan, blender, stereo would be the things we would power and it would be for hardly any time at all. the Max would I roughly calculated with a stereo and blender on at once was around 800W.

I would like to know the best way to arrange the panels, parallel series or both, and which charge controllers and inverters I would be able to pick up for cheap.

My thought would be to get a charge controller that could step down the voltage to 12 volts so our inverter would be cheaper and we could hook 12 volt batteries in parallel but I am not sure what I am looking for.

Any comments would be greatly appreciated.

Ryan

Comments

• System2
    System2 Posts: 6,290 admin
    Re: Questions about Solar equipment

First thoughts - - before you spend any money, or go further with the project as it's now planned, is to verify the panels with shattered glass are working. In almost all posts I've seen here re broken glass, the panels are next to useless. You may be lucky, but verify, so you'll know where you can with it go first.
    You have to check BOTH the output voltage, AND the output current. Don't be surprised if the voltage seems within reason, but the amperage is next to nil, or way down on the ones with shattered glass.
    Let us know what you find.